Overnight Chia Oats

I’ve been seeing  a lot of posts on Facebook & Pinterest about overnight oats.  I thought for sure I would hate it but I was intrigued to give it a try. I’m not a morning person so when I get up, I prefer to grab a cup of coffee and not eat, but I know thats not how to lose weight or be healthy.

So, last night, I decided to give it a go…with full intention on throwing it out after the first bite this morning….lets see how it went.

What I had seen mostly was to use 1/2 C oats &  1/2 cup milk.  I am in the process of giving up dairy, or at least limiting it, so I opted for Coconut Milk.  I added 1 T chia seeds for a little more protein and omega 3s.  

ImageImage

 

I poured it into a Mason jar, shook it up, put it in the fridge and went to bed!

When I woke up this morning, I added 1T of peanut butter (habit from putting it in my Shakeology!?)  Then, I cringed as I took the first bite….

Image

 

…..but it was DELICOUS!  I even ate it cold!  I will definitely be making this again…with a few minor changes.

Image

I’m trying to follow my macros, 40/40/20 and this is clearly NOT.  I made the mistake of making this before figuring into myfitnesspal.  When I entered it this morning AFTER I ate it….along with my coffee w/organic creamer, my macros are 37/13/50!!!!  Yowzah.  I’d better be careful for the rest of the day.

Tomorrow (yes, I’m having this again tomorrow) I will add protein powder and no peanut butter.  

This will be perfect to take on the road with us when we have an early morning!

Leave a Reply

